top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Asian Propaganda

JUNE 15, 2013 · 7:29 PM

I was fortunate to have visited the British Museum recently, and while my friend and I just zoomed through (we were only going to spend an hour there), I would have loved to have seen more of this exhibit: http://tinyurl.com/p8k3zwk It was pretty interesting to note the differences between how the West regards and has used propaganda and how Asians have regarded it and used it. Mind you, not having seen the whole exhibit, it does strike me as timely in light of how the whole Prism spying issue is being dealt with- especially by US media. lol! However, time being what it was, I was promised the book as a gift, and so I thoroughly enjoyed my time exploring other fascinating exhibits, such as a mummy of a young woman named Cleopatra (no, not THE Cleopatra, but a young girl named for her 150 years later), and the Rosetta Stone (did you know that Napoleon’s soldiers discovered this?).Another interesting exhibit there at the time but requiring advance booking was on Pompeii. I really wish we could have seen that! And there is a lecture about it on the 18th. Sure wish I could have been there for that. The British museum needs at least a month of 5-hour days to be fully explored. We saw quite a lot of Egyptian things, some ancient English things, and so much more. Someday I will return to give it a good amount of my time. It’s seriously like walking through an encyclopedia!


Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page