top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Never Let Me Go


I just finished reading a great book called Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. I haven’t seen the movie yet, which stars Keira Knightley, but the book was stellar. I had no idea what it was about when I began it, but you suddenly figure it out about 2/3rds of the way in. It brings up some prescient points about the ethics of biomedical practices, but more importantly, what unintended effects those issues can have on others. If you have read the book/seen the film, I would be very interested in what you think.

One thing, the photo at the right appears on my edition of the book, and it is a little misleading (I won’t say how), but I kept looking for this scene as I read page after page.

The writing is good because it causes your body to react: at one point I got sexually aroused, at one point I burst into laughter, and at another point I was in tears. But ultimately I was left wondering why things didn’t turn out differently in the end. That’s more of a compliment to the author than a criticism; predictability is not exciting.

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page