top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Spring


Spring is one of my favorite times of the year. Everything is growing, renewing, blooming. Color is everywhere! I am in the process of “remodeling” my yard, so I have been studying it for a while to see what I want to grow here and where I want it to grow.

Our zone here in Tampa has changed recently due to new data used to create a new Plant Hardiness Zone Map, so it looks like we are a little warmer than in the old map (about 5 degrees on average across the board). That means I can perhaps get away with plants I might not have attempted to plant years ago. As I love tropical foliage, this excites me to no end!

Some new members of my garden so far are Crotons and Gingers. I have wild plans for begonias, palms, and geraniums soon, too. And then the ever-challenging lawn question…what grass to plant? Anyone have suggestions? My yard is shady in most places (lots of trees) and bright and sunny in others. Do I have to plant different grasses to suit different light?

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page